Busy Mommy & Exercise With Toddlers

What’s a Daily Routine With a Toddler?

I want to start a new thread that I intend to update regularly. This thread will be about my exercise and daily routine. Since the beginning of this year my husband has been working out of town Monday through Friday for work. As you can imagine, having him gone so often can be quite a challenge and I take it day by day. I do what I can, and if there are things that are left over they are put on the top of the to-do list for the next day. My health has been a focus over the last couple months. Not because it was a new year resolution, but that I was informed that I’m not able to have children as of right now. I have been diagnosed with PCOS and Hashimoto’s disease. My PCOS has caused a hormonal imbalance which can only be regulated after I loose 30 to 40 lbs. A lot easier said than done…

I’m starting this thread to keep myself honest about my activity levels and on track. I always have done much better with my health conscious goals when I have someone to own up to. I want to share what exercises I do each day, what I choose to do for cardio, and how I incorporate my wonderful son into my always busy routine. I want to post onto his thread on a weekly basis and give an overview of the previous week.

I do have a couple of items that I use each week that I have acquired over time. As seen in the pictures above I  have a jogging stroller which I received from my generous in-laws that they bought at a yard sale. I also recently purchased a Burley Encore bike trailer that I’ve been eyeing for over a year. That was a rather large purchase, and you don’t need a bike trailer to maintain the same level of activity as myself.

My Burley Encore bike trailer with my 2 year old son and 4 year old niece.

This morning my precious little Ray of sunshine decided to wake up an hour before my alarm went off. So, I decided to take full advantage of it! Together we got ready for the day and I had half an hour that I could take a morning walk/run. Surprisingly Raylend seemed to love our morning stroll! I had him sucked in with a small blanket(the very top picture) and gave him his LeapFrog tablet to watch videos while we enjoyed our morning workout.

Since Raylend enjoyed it so much I think I’m going to make this a regular occurrence. Maybe not everyday, but definitely 3 times a week at least. waking up an hour early seems rather manageable for me. My total distance was just shy of 1.5 miles. This is two laps around the neighborhood behind my apartments. There is little traffic so the quiet neighborhood is perfect for our walks. The first lap around the neighborhood I tried to speed walk, whereas the second lap I jogged the majority of. It took me about 25 minutes which gave me plenty of time to get ready for work.

After work I pick up Raylend and head over to my mother’s house. My sister goes on a walk with me everyday after work. I walk around her neighborhood once and repeat the same route a second time. The second go a round I jog the majority of. This tally’s up to about 1.7 miles. Once I go home I clean up the backyard a bit, tend to the garden, feed the dog, and start doing some muscle building exercises. Jumping jacks, lunges, squats, and sit ups are all on the list. Don’t get me wrong… I only ended up doing one set of 30 each, but that was more than I did yesterday. So today is a good day!

 

Raylend had a snack after this while giving me a french girl pose ;D I swear this kid loves cashews and Macadamia nuts more than life. I hope to keep up the momentum!

20170309_173350

Leave a Reply

